Late to the Party!

I sort of like those time honored idioms that we just don’t hear that much of anymore like “a day late, a dollar short” or “get down to brass tacks”. You know, the ones that if you say it in multi-generational company the younger generations have no idea what you are talking about. This is all very random but I thought of the phrase “late to the party” when I picked up Tula Pink’s City Sampler 100 Modern Quilt Blocks book at Joann Fabrics with a 50% coupon.

IMG_1292

So I’m a little late jumping on that bandwagon (HA! There’s another one!) but I wouldn’t have had the time. And, really, who cares, the blocks are so timeless in their modernness that they still look fresh a year later. AND DID YOU HEAR ME? 50% OFF! I’ve started at the beginning and have made the first three blocks – all from my scraps (which is the goal here). I’ve given them city names because it is a City Sampler. Meet Milwaukee (blue), Los Angeles (pink) and Denver (yellow) – no apparent theme here.

IMG_1294

Because all I’ve been doing lately is cutting up my scraps . . . . (I cut up one pile per day into uniform, usable sizes. – I have about 30 of these little piles.)

IMG_1288

and some free motion quilting on my daughter’s Christmas quilt, (I’ll show you just a bit) . . .

IMG_1280

I didn’t really have that much to blog about this time. I thought that a post of my latest deals – and subsequent happy mail days – could be sort of fun. Thus proving that it’s not always bad to be late to the party. Picking up fabric when it’s on clearance, pre-ordering well ahead of time, or just waiting for the sales can be quite beneficial.

IMG_1290

I picked up this AWESOME Lotta Jansdotter fat quarter bundle from Massdrop for less than $2/piece. In stores in my area FQs usually run $3. If you haven’t heard about Massdrop, you should definitely check it out. I also bought some batting from them at a fraction of the cost it is in stores. The only downside is it takes a pretty long time from when you commit to the sale to when you receive your product – up to 3 weeks. If you’re willing to wait, you can find some good deals there. And they sell more than just crafting supplies – they seem pretty big in the audiophile department.

IMG_1301

I bought this HUGE stack of Free Spirit fat quarters from Craftsy a few weeks back. Yeah, there’s some duplicates and some duds but I got it for a ridiculously low price of about $1.50/piece. In that same order I got a 6 yard cut of Amy Butler’s Belle for $6/yard. Pretty darn good when I just saw it at my LQS for over $10/yard. I never have to worry about the quality of the items with Craftsy. Currently, I don’t have any plans for this massive stack but for now, I’m fine just looking at it.  😛

IMG_1297

I pre-ordered some yardage and 2 layer cake stacks of Me & My Sister Designs latest line LOL from Craft Town Fabrics. With a little searching, I found that they had a great deal long before the line was released. Again, you have to be willing to wait a little bit. This happy stack of goodness is going to become a quilt for the first of my great nieces. My niece has three daughters and she commissioned me to make quilts for all of them. These girls are the sweetest and cutest girls on the planet so these quilts have got to be pretty special!

IMG_1299

I’ve also been gathering all this greenness for a “winter” quilt for my sister. Her husband loves green and she wanted a quilt she could change out with the seasons. I made her Carol’s Garden to be used during the sunshiney days of spring and summer. This one will be for fall and winter . . . . unless, of course, she would want me to make her two more specifically for spring and fall separately. That top fabric is really a forest green but sort of looks turquoise here. I’m waiting on another print and two more solids for this quilt. After a lot of research and online shopping trips, I’m loving this combination. Everything was purchased when online shops were running specials.

The one thing I ordered for me of late was this color card for Robert Kaufman’s Kona solids. I’ve found the selection of Kona solids is so much better online (and often at better prices) than at my LQS but the colors were hard to guess at because there are SO MANY. I paid full price for this 2014 color card but it is worth it’s weight in gold. This card folds out four more times and has all 303 available colors. I know I’m a freak but seeing all that color in one spot – oh my – I’m like a kid in a candy store!!! And I sort of feel like I’ve arrived because I’m picking out “just the right color” from color swatches just like all the famous designers do. {blushing now}

Random Thoughts

1. We’ve been having a fabulous fall in Wisconsin. Picture perfect, really! Yesterday, Mr. L.B. and I took a 22-mile bike ride and had the best time. We parked at a local winery, biked into the city, returned for a couple of glasses of their house wine and a cheese plate before sunset. It was idyllic. I was hosting a funeral for my poor arse however. Today is worse, there is little on my old body that doesn’t hurt. I either need to do this more often or not at all. Mr. L.B. is in far better shape – he managed to golf 18 holes this afternoon. I indulged in an entire day of selfish sewing. But then again, isn’t every time I sew, selfish sewing? It is my hobby after all!!!

2. Did you catch my two other idioms in this post? I challenge you to use an idiom in the next two weeks and report back here!!

Life is good! It just is!

TTFN,

Annette

 

 

 

 

 

Talk to me!

