A Smattering of Things from the Blogosphere

(I like that word – smattering. I hear it as onomatopoeia.)

It’s no secret that there are parts of quilting I’m not especially fond of. Half-square triangles (HSTs) come to mind and binding takes a close second. As official summer (before Labor Day) winds down, I thought it better to work on some smaller projects instead of adding another quilt top to the list of items to be quilted.

IMG_1123

I had wanted to make myself a pincushion for awhile when I spotted this tutorial from The Sewing Chick for something I deemed relatively easy. But those pesky HSTs! I bit the bullet and decided to go ahead and make it using the scraps that I have been cutting to uniform sizes for what seems like forever! Well, my HSTs turned out absolutely perfect – all four corners matched perfectly in the middle; all four points were perfect at the seam around the pincushion. And then . . . . . . . I covered it up with ribbon. What? I know. I didn’t even snap a photo before doing so. I’m such a dope! I guess I’ll have to reproduce it again.

Here’s the back:

IMG_1125

And as you can see from the pinholes, I’m using it quite a lot already.

IMG_1124

I had been using a magnetic pin holder but I often stored by little snip scissors near it. When I would reach for my snippers, it would become magnetized and I’d pick up a pin or two. The act of retrieving the snippers and bringing it to what I was cutting would send the pins flying off the points. Oh, that sound of pins hitting the floor!! Because I share my workspace with Mr. LB and it becomes our son’s bedroom when he comes for visits, I thought it important that pins NOT be all over the floor. Thread clippings are another story.

The other project I worked on this week was rather impromptu. I had won a mini charm pack of Zen Chic’s Juggling Summer line at my local quilt shop several months back. I then bought several yards (way too much – what was I thinking?) of the cream angles that were part of the line in the hopes of making a table runner.  When Moda Bake Shop posted this recipe from Little Miss Shabby, I was inspired. And I had been itching to try out my new design boards I made using Bee in My Bonnet’s tutorial.

IMG_1067

(Don’t worry; I fixed my mistake before the piece was all together.)

Here’s a shot of my design boards:

IMG_1174

These colors just remind me of citrus. Which reminds me of summer. Which should be all year long!!

So back to my Juggling Summer table runner. I quilted it from what I learned from Jacquie Gering’s Craftsy walking foot quilting class. I decided to try the spiral and loved doing this one.

IMG_1128

I’ll need a bit more practice on something larger but I really like the movement in this design. You’ll see it again somewhere in the future.

IMG_1126

I bound my table runner using a new technique I found over at Flourishing Palms. My piece was small enough that I didn’t need to piece the binding strips – not crazy about joining the strips on the diagonal. This method is pretty cool and warrants some further experimentation as all but one of my corners is a bit Vulcan or elf ear-like. See what I mean?

IMG_1129

Because of some plaguing tendinitis in my right arm, I decided to machine sew the binding using Red Pepper Quilt’s method. This worked better than it has in the past but because of the new way I did the corners, the binding isn’t “full”. In other words, if I had pulled the binding around even more to fill it out, the corners would be ever more Vulcan like.

IMG_1127

The stitching of the corners on the back side looked better than what I’ve done before with machine sewing but still not what I was hoping for. I remain in search of my perfect binding routine. At this point, I think I prefer Susie’s Magic Binding tutorial from 52 Quilts.

All said and done, I rather like our new table runner.

IMG_1130

And the colors coordinate perfectly with some Longaberger crocks that I’ve had for awhile. (I love it when things work out like that.)

IMG_1132

Random Thoughts

1. The purging of the basement has commenced. Ick! But I came across some assembly instructions for a quilting frame that my mother owned. She had written some instructions for herself on the back and I got to thinking how very personal our handwriting is. I remember learning cursive in the 4th grade. Pretty sure my kids were learning it in 1st or 2nd grade. But what about now? I think that the art of handwriting is getting lost. Who wouldn’t rather get a handwritten thank you note in the mail over a mass e-mail message? I think we should all write something long hand each day. At least a sentence. My mom’s been gone almost seven years but my memories of her flood my mind when I see these few words on their page.

IMG_1172

2. I’ll have some pretty exciting news (at least for me) regarding my blog real soon. Stay tuned!

 

Life is good! It just is!

TTFN!

Annette

Talk to me!

