A Bucket List

If you know me at all or have followed my blog even the tiniest bit, you would know I hate DISLIKE making long-term goals. Pretty sure it’s my self-diagnosed ADD (as most creative people are). So I’m a little annoyed when people make the proverbial “Bucket List”. I think it sounds morbid and a little like boasting about being soooo adventurous (this from a totally risk averse individual). While I am a planner, I would much rather live a little more by the seat of my pants with “by the seat of my pants” meaning planned out a week in advance. So it would seem kind of unusual that I would buy a jelly roll of a line of fabric called Noteworthy that is pretty much a bucket list. You can see it here in the gray square in the lower right and the yellow HST in the upper right.

IMG_0939

Yes, that’s right! I did say HST! And flying geese! I’m into self-torture I guess.

IMG_0902

Anyway, back to the fabric. What drew me to this line of fabric was really the playful doodles and the text! I love me some fabric with text. In fact, I just love letters. At one time I had two rooms in my house that had wooden or steel letters on the walls.

Even loving the fabric didn’t make this quilt top any easier. It took forever!! (See note above regarding ADD. Hmmph!)

IMG_1032

But I persevered and can cross another quilt top off my summer to-do list (which is totally different than a long-term goal list or a bucket list – just saying) making the current grand total up to 5 quilt tops that will need to be quilted when our most precious daughter returns to college, forfeits her room and I can spread out my quilting necessities without having to dismantle the work space each night. (Yes, that WAS one sentence.)

IMG_1027

I had a bunch of fun stepping outside with my favorite chair from my parent’s old farmhouse and this quilt.

IMG_1031

And then even more fun applying filters to my photos with an app I purchased for my iPad.

IMG_0995

IMG_1028

And because no post could be complete without mention of Mr. LB’s yard, I had to throw in these shots so you all could admire his beautiful Monarda (Bee Balm), Moonbeam Coreopsis (Tickseed)  and Perovskia (Russian Sage).

IMG_1038

This quilt pattern called for another different method for making the flying geese. I’m going to stumble on one that I really like one of these days. However, it left you with a lot of waste triangles. What, waste? No way, we must save every salvageable scrap larger than 1 1/2″. So I did and made all these tiny HSTs that are literally 1 1/2″ square. What will I do with them you ask? Hmmm, I guessing they will somehow make it into the back of this quilt. Which fully explains why this top took so long!

Random Thoughts

Blueberries are abundant at the farmer’s markets here in Wisconsin and what better way to start a day with a blueberry muffin. I found the most delicious, and quite easy at that, recipe for blueberry muffins from Food.com. This makes generous sized muffins and when I tried to squeeze them into 8 muffin cups I had a bit of a mess so, if you want my advice, go with the full dozen.

IMG_1034

Here they are before they got their delicious, and completely unhealthy, crumb topping. But if we are going to be real with ourselves, we ALL crave the crumb topping! Am I right?

GOOD MORNING!

IMG_1036

Fresh from the oven. Warning: these are fork worthy muffins when they are warm but they firm up as they cool.

IMG_1035

And because I’ve already mentioned my parents, that plate is also from them. My very favorite purple pansy plates many of which are sadly losing their bright colors. Makes me miss my mom and dad a little bit!!!

You can now wipe the drool from your computer/tablet/phone screen and go get some blueberries!!

Life is good! It just is!

TTFN!

Annette

3 responses to “A Bucket List

  1. What’s a fresh-from-the-oven blueberry muffin without a healthy pat of melty butter? Am I right? Another homage to our dairy parents. Love it.

    Like

  2. I love this post – and your perspective!

    I’m a “fly by the seat of my pant” quilter, in that nothing is set-in-stone until I sew it together. I regularly fall out of love with “genius ideas” long before they get to the cutting table, and while there are some quilt designs that I’d like to eventually make, I refuse to make any sort of list.

    As for flying geese, I love the Fit to be Geese ruler and method by Open Gate Quilts. You piece it a little big and trim it square and to size. I’d also look into the Bloc-Loc rulers. They can get a bit pricey but the results are awesome. As in… perfect. 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Introducing Annette Zautcke from nette’s studio 23 | Sew Mama Sew | Bringing you outstanding sewing, quilting, and needlework tutorials since 2005.·

Talk to me!

